Mahomes the oldest amongst 4 championship sport QBs

Patrick Mahomes would be the senior among the many beginning quarterbacks within the convention title video games. The 27-year-old All-Professional for…

Patrick Mahomes would be the senior among the many beginning quarterbacks within the convention title video games.

The 27-year-old All-Professional for Kansas Metropolis is the oldest member of one of many youngest teams of beginning quarterbacks to achieve this spherical.

The opposite three scheduled beginning QBs on Sunday are 26-year-old Joe Burrow for Cincinnati, 24-year-old Jalen Hurts for Philadelphia and 23-year-old rookie Brock Purdy for San Francisco.

The one different time all 4 beginning QBs within the convention title sport haven’t but turned 28 got here in 1996 when Brett Favre (27), Mark Brunell (26), Drew Bledsoe (24) and Kerry Collins (24) obtained there.

Attending to this stage is nothing new for Mahomes and Burrow. Mahomes reached the AFC title sport in all 5 seasons as a starter and might be part of Tom Brady as the one beginning QBs to achieve the Tremendous Bowl 3 times of their first six seasons with a win on Sunday.

Burrow earned his fifth playoff begin final week towards Buffalo, becoming a member of Russell Wilson (six) and Ben Roethlisberger (5) as the one QBs to win not less than 5 begins of their first three seasons within the NFL.

Whereas Burrow was the No. 1 choose in 2020 and Mahomes went tenth in 2017, Hurts and Purdy have had extra unbelievable journeys to this stage.

Hurts was chosen within the second spherical in 2020 and Purdy went with the final choose within the 2022 draft. The winner on Sunday will be part of Colin Kaepernick, Russell Wilson, Nick Foles and Jimmy Garoppolo as the one 192 QBs taken after the primary spherical within the draft since 2002 to achieve the Tremendous Bowl.

Purdy has already had a exceptional run, becoming a member of Joe Flacco (2008) and Mark Sanchez (2009) as the one rookies to earn two playoff begins. The one different rookies to get to the convention title sport had been Shaun King (1999) and Ben Roethlisberger (2004), who did it with one win after a bye.

Purdy is trying to turn into the primary rookie to achieve the Tremendous Bowl with these 4 others all shedding. They’d a mixed 51.8 passer score within the title video games with 9 interceptions, 4 TD passes and simply 196.8 yards passing per sport.


The Bengals and Chiefs will meet within the AFC title sport for the second straight season, becoming a member of uncommon firm for title sport rematches.

Because the merger in 1970, the one different groups to fulfill within the convention title sport in back-to-back seasons are the Cowboys and 49ers (1970–71, 1992–94), the Steelers and Raiders (1974–76), the Oilers and Steelers (1978–79), the Browns and Broncos (1986–87), and the Ravens and Patriots (2011–12).

In 5 of these six earlier rematches, the workforce that received the primary assembly additionally received the second, with solely Baltimore and New England splitting. The 1976 Raiders and 1994 49ers received the trilogy sport after shedding the primary two.


The 49ers and Bengals are headed into championship weekend on spectacular streaks.

San Francisco has received 12 straight video games and Cincinnati has received 10 in a row, becoming a member of 10 different groups which have reached this spherical on a profitable streak of not less than 10 video games.

The final workforce to do it was the 2007 Patriots, who received 17 straight earlier than beating San Diego to make the Tremendous Bowl. Their bid for perfection ended with a loss to the Giants.

Of the ten earlier groups to take a profitable streak of not less than 10 video games into the championship sport, solely two didn’t make the Tremendous Bowl: the 1976 and 2004 Steelers.

5 of the ten received all of it with the 2003 Patriots, 1986 Giants, 1984 49ers, 1976 Raiders and 1972 Dolphins streaking to championships.

Washington in 1983 and Atlanta in 1998 joined the 2007 Patriots as Tremendous Bowl losers.


Kansas Metropolis coach Andy Reid reached just a few extra milestones along with his newest playoff win that gave him 10 with the Chiefs and 10 with Philadelphia.

Reid’s 20 complete wins within the postseason are tied with Corridor of Famer Tom Landry for the second most in NFL historical past, behind solely Invoice Belichick with 31.

Reid has coached a workforce to the convention title sport 10 instances up to now 22 seasons, going from 2001-04 and in 2008 with Philadelphia and the final 5 seasons with Kansas Metropolis.

The one coaches with extra convention title appearances within the Tremendous Bowl period are Invoice Belichick (13) and Landry (12).

Reid and the Chiefs additionally joined Belichick’s Patriots (2011-18) and John Madden’s Raiders (1973-77) as the one groups to obtain their 5 straight seasons.


San Francisco kicker Robbie Gould prolonged his postseason run of perfection.

Gould made all 4 subject aim makes an attempt towards Dallas on Sunday, in addition to his one additional level try. That made Gould excellent on all 67 kicks he tried in 15 postseason video games for the 49ers, Giants and Chicago. He made all 29 subject targets and all 38 additional factors.

The one different kicker in NFL historical past who is ideal within the postseason with not less than 10 subject targets is Brandon McManus, who’s 10 for 10 on subject targets and three for 3 on additional factors.


AP NFL: and

Copyright © 2023 The Related Press. All rights reserved. This materials is probably not printed, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Comment